COPE Health Scholar Internship

05 February 2017

My name is Pauline Wong and I am a Kinesiology major at Cal State Fullerton. I will be graduating in May 2017 with a Bachelors of Science in Kinesiology. After that, I plan to continue on to grad school to fufill my goals of becoming an occupational therapist. For the next few months, I will be blogging about my experiences while interning at a hospital.

The internship that I am in is through a program called COPE Health Scholars (HS), previously known as Clinical Care Extender Program. The program is associated with Citrus Valley Health Partners, which has three different branches of hospital. The hospital that I am interning at is Queen of the Valley Hospital in West Covina, California. I will be working closely with both physical and occupational therapists in the outpatient therapy department, as well as the nurses and EMTs in the emergency room. My schedule is to mainly work on Wednesdays and Fridays for four hours per day, concluding at eight hours per week.

As a Health Scholar, I am to assist the nurses and/or therapists in whatever they need, as long as it is within my scope of practice. I do get to experience direct contact interaction with the patients, therefore I am able to aide patients in bathing, feeding, ambulating, and bed clean. One major reoccurring thing that I do as a health scholar is to take vital signs of patients and report them to the nurse. In the outpatient department, I mostly observe the therapists work because I am not licensed to treat any patients nor is it within my scope of practice. However, I am able to assist the therapist by setting up the gym for specific exercises.

A barrier that I have now is finding a preceptor that is able to sign off on my monthly reports. The two therapists that I work with recently have a lot of their plate so I will be asking my program manager about being my preceptor. I believe that it will be more difficult to get her to be my preceptor because she is not in the office as much and she has 500 other health scholars to be responsible for. Hopefully I will have a set preceptor by the end of this week.

-Pauline Wong

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

