AHA – Grad School 101

Grad School 101 w/ Chad

This workshop was posted online on March 21, 2017, by Chad. Chad is a graduate assistant and during the workshop, he talked about the graduate school application process.

From watching the workshop, I learned many informational tools that will most definitely help me when I start to apply to graduate school. First off is to always do a simply google search to find out what type of programs there are out there. Each university has different requirements for their programs so it differs form each university. I learned that I should always apply to accredited universities because they are backed up. It is also important to consider to program fees and other miscellaneous information.

Some important factors that I learned to consider when searching for graduate schools are to know types of research that faculty members are working on, location of the school, the costs, and the culture of the school. It is good to know the faculty research because it is better to go to a university where the faculty has similar research that connects to the type of research or program that I would like to go into. Location of the university is also pretty important because you have to consider whether you want to study in a city area or a more suburban area. I know that I also want to stay close to home but I also want to stay within a close distance of the university because I want to go out and have a good time once in a while rather than just a plain field.

School and programs costs are always a huge factor in deciding where I would like to study. Whether or not I would have to funds to attend to program or how much financial aid will cover for me. Costs play a huge deciding factor for myself because I will have to pay most of it on my own. School culture is also important because I want to attend a university where both the students and staff are supporting and how they act towards others.

One other thing I learned is to figure out what I need to do to prepare myself for graduate school and the application process. I should have my Bachelor’s Degree completed as well as a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher. I should also have my personal statement, letters of recommendation, resume and/or CV, and my official transcripts for all the colleges that I have attended (including the community college). The GRE test score should also be sent in, along with the school application form and fee.

I know that applying to grad school will take a lot of time, so from this workshop, I will start to implement more time and thought into researching the grad schools I would like to go to. This workshop was very informational for me and I have learned a lot.

-Pauline Wong

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

